Monday, September 24, 2012

Video



If you didn't see this on my facebook, it's pretty funny...

12-ish weeks

Good afternoon! I feel kind of bad starting a new blog after not completing our one from Korea...but I will, no really. 

Brett and I are just so excited to be having a baby and have actually known that we were expecting since July. I hate keeping secrets but we wanted to make sure everything was fine and dandy with little baby Lofgren before spreading the news. The ultra sounds is actually from around 10 weeks. It is crazy how fast babies develop and what develops first, very interesting. By now, the baby has started developing its reflexes. It's fingers can open and close, it's mouth can make sucking movements, it's toes can curl, and it can move it's eye muscles. The baby is a whopping 2 inches long and weighs half an ounce...that's so teeny!

When I got the ultra sound (at risk of sounding extremely mushy), it was the most magical thing I have ever seen. Like, that's a BABY in there. OUR baby! How cool. Of course I cried. And then I laughed. And when I laughed, the baby started moving around like crazy. Just the cutest thing ever and I can't believe I have 28 weeks left to go. Have I mentioned I am not a patient person?

I'm showing a tiny bit, even though people don't believe me. Granted, some is due to bloating, but I know what my belly looked like before and what it looks like now is not the same. I'm just anxious to start showing  more soon! Oh, and I had no morning sickness! Yay! So nice. I was exhausted for several weeks and I have had some bouts of insomnia, mostly getting up to go to the bathroom and not being able to go to sleep for an hour or so. I have been getting more energy back and it showed in my tennis scores. Apparently, mothers say that the second trimester is the best so I'm looking forward to that. I guess that's now-ish to 14 weeks when you enter the first trimester.

I have another appointment with the doctor next week, just to check the progress and then another ultrasound in November that will be more detailed and will tell us what the gender of the baby is. I know you have all been wondering if we are going to tell and the answer is yes, you will know what we are having but sorry, you will not know the names we are thinking of. Actually, Brett and I already have a guess as to what we are going to have and have a name picked out, but we'll see :) 

Besides being excited for the baby, I think we are also ready. Going to Korea and moving to Boise has all been part of the plan for save money. The fact that Brett now has a full time teaching job and I switched to a more lucrative occupation (for now), we are definitely going to be set up monetarily to bring up this baby in a comfortable enough environment to live within our means. Mentally, we are also ready, I mean, as ready as we can be with our first baby. I'm obviously not saying I know everything there is to know about raising a child, but we both have wanted a family so with that mindset we are at least a little prepared?

I'm very happy to be pregnant in the winter months. I can't imagine being pregnant over this past summer. and it's due in April, the BEST month, of course :) I am a little nervous about not being around family when the baby is born. Luckily Brett will be able to take two weeks off when it is born, so that will be helpful. 

We have also been practicing putting on onesies...she was a very good sport :)