OK, so I have a lot to catch up since my last post. We've traveled to San Diego where we spent Christmas, moved in to our new apartment, been to the doctor again, and have started telling people the name of our baby!
I will start first with the name: Finnegan Richard Lofgren, and we will call him Finn :) We're pretty much set on this and are very happy to have chosen a name that is incorporating both some uniqueness as well as keeping a family name. We both like the name Finnegan/Finn and Richard is my grandfather's name. And yes, we weren't going to tell people but we decided that it will be fun for people to know and to start referring to him as "Finn" rather than "the baby".
We went to San Diego for Christmas break which was super fun; so nice that Brett and I have the same holiday schedule now and were able to take that much time to visit family. While down there, they threw me a baby shower which was so nice and we received some really amazing, generous gifts. He is going to be a very comfortable baby, that is for sure :) We also have about 4 different different ways of transporting him around from a baby sling to a great stroller and a couple different types of backpacks/carriers. He also received some adorable clothes and blankies as well a crib and Classic Pooh bedding set. We don't have everything in his room all set yet since we are still in the process of moving, but it will be so fun to really start converting a room to make it comfortable for Mom and baby (and guests!!). All so exciting!
It was nice being in San Diego for Christmas but definitely a different experience. A lot of family around so a lot going on all the time and not to mention no snow! That's ok though, we had a lot of fun and it was neat to see another family's traditions since this was my first Christmas with the Lofgren/Waters clan.
As soon as we got back from our trip, we started packing up and moving to our new place. Brett has done a phenomenal job moving just about everything (aside from the big heavy stuff in which we enlisted a few extra hands for help yesterday) from our second story apartment to our third story apartment. It's nice that the distance from one to the other is not too far because we stayed here New Year's Eve and definitely forgot food for Katara...Brett went over and got that for her. We kind of set things up for a couple days and then Brett went back to work on Wednesday. I put some things together, organized the kitchen, the bathrooms, and closet. As I said, yesterday we moved the last of our big things: couch, chair, coffee table, guest bed, dresser, entertainment center, and dining room table and let me tell you, that entertainment center is the heaviest thing we own and I greatly appreciate the guys that were able to move that as well as Pat for letting us borrow a Uhaul! Now that we have all that in here, it really looks and feels like home. We spent several nights trying to get comfortable with blankets and pillows on the floor and it worked well enough since we both fell asleep Friday night around 6:15 watching a documentary about the people of 10,000 BC...but it is definitely nice to have our couch and recliner in here :) Katara is adjusting well and has really enjoyed exploring the whole place over and over again. It's quite a bit bigger than our old place so she has some extra hiding places and more space to run at breakneck speeds, always hilarious to see.
Ok now for more baby stuff (I'm at 27 weeks!)... I went to the doctor on Friday and let me just say, I don't know if it was because it was Friday or what, but this was the first time my doctor really has rubbed me the wrong way. Normally she's really nice and friendly and this time she was just insensitive and smug. After weighing myself, I was shocked to see the numbers on the scale because I did not think I had gained that much at all, especially in the last two weeks, it seemed like a huge change. I know I have defintely put on some weight but from when I first came in until now, I've put on 27 pounds, or so the scale says. Even though I know there is a lot associated with gaining pregancy weight, fluids, baby, etc., it's still never fun to see those numbers and feel that heavy. Stupid scale. I asked my doctor about it towards the end of the appointment to see if that was normal and why it jumped up so much so fast. I was weighed at my ultra sound two weeks prior (different scale) and the increase was 14 pounds. Her responses were interesting, "It was the holidays, what do you want me to do about it?" Well, fair enough, I did indulge much more than I had been for a few days over Christmas, but not 14 pounds worth. So I asked, is it normal to have gained this much by now? "Well, it's not ideal, but we can't take back what's been done, so just try to go for a few walks every week, and cut out sugar, that's easy." When I told that part to Brett, he looked at me and said, "I'm sorry, she told a pregnant woman to cut out sugar and that would be easy?" My thoughts exactly. To make matters worse, she really had nothing positive to say and said things like I should only gain about 10 more pounds from here on out, anything more than that and I would be unhappy with myself afterwards. Wait, so am I supposed to be unhappy with myself right now? What are you saying?! Why are you being so mean?! I was the one that brought this up thinking it probably wasn't a big deal since you hadn't mentioned it but now that I did, apparently you're not happy with my weight gain?! Have you forgotten that this is my first baby, I don't know all the questions to ask, I don't know everything that is normal, and I don't have a bunch of family or girlfriends who are pregnant or who have kids that I can look to for support so why are you being so rude? Finn was mad too because when she put the wand on my belly to get his heartbeat he kicked it really hard. I like to imagine him saying, "Nobody talks to my mommy like that!" haha... I tried to take a step back and think, ok, maybe it's just hormones making me think that she is being rude and insensitive, but no. Talking to a couple people about this later they totally agreed with me, that she was not very nice. I'm already sensitive about my weight to begin with and now I feel like I have no idea what to eat. I thought I have been doing pretty well with my diet, maybe not so much with staying active, but still. I was definitely distraught about this for the past couple of days.
That episode in the doctor's office led me to start thinking about all the "don'ts" of pregnancy and why the "do's" are not brought up as much. I also feel like the list of "don'ts" has gotten longer and longer recently and more and more kids have ADD, autism, etc. Maybe there is no correlation, but I like to think that keeping myself and my baby in a protective "on the safe side of everything" bubble is actually more harmful. The more protective the environment, the more illness and allergies. At least that's what I believe. I feel the more the baby is exposed to at a young age, the better he will be at fighting things and adapting to the world around him. Granted, I'm not going to start smoking and drinking but I don't want to have to be SO careful about every little thing. My doctor asked if we had a pediatrician yet and I said no and she mentioned that some mothers like to interview the pediatricians beforehand. I think that's ridiculous. I understand finding a good one is important, but to interview? I have no desire to do that, it's a doctor, they treat things, and does check-ups. It doesn't all need to be perfect.
Last thing about that visit. While the nurse was getting my blood pressure, she had asked me a couple questions and I mentioned to her that the ultra sound technician noticed that Finn was quite big for only being 24 weeks along and that they might want to change the due date. She dogeared the page for my doctor and said she would let her know to check on that and to get back to me about that. When I mentioned it to my doctor she seemed to get almost defensive, "They never told me anything about that!" Um...maybe if you open your file to the pages marked, or, I don't know, read my file before coming in here, you would have seen that? She said that the earlier ultra sounds are more accurate and she was going to stick with the April 8th due date. I personally think that's way too late and that he's going to come in March. She said that they would closely monitor me around 35-36 weeks, however, to make sure I wasn't going to end up delivering a 10-12 pound baby. If that were the case, they would induce me early.
I hate to criticize someone so painstakingly but I just felt very uncomfortable after leaving there and not happy how she handled the touchy subject of weight with a pregnant woman. I understand she was doing her job and she is probably busy with delivering babies, and other patients, but it onlt takes a second to read through my new paperwork, to take 5 extra minutes to discuss healthy weight gain, and to maybe take interest in my as a patient. I'm paying you to take care of me and trusting that you are doing a good job, that's why you make the big bucks. I've had enough stress in the past few months, some reassurance that I'm doing a good job shouldn't be that hard.
That being said, I'm to the point now where I start going in every two weeks which is crazy. It's really getting much closer. He is so active and just felt and saw him kick through my shirt! I'm also looking a lot more pregnant and have gotten friendly smiles from strangers as I walk by. Today Brett and I went to brunch and I ordered biscuits and gravy, a pregnancy favorite of mine, and apparently the woman looked at my belly after I ordered and smiled. What?! I like food...